What Charges Will You Face If Convicted Of Dui In New Hampshire?

Even though the states are free to write their own laws, the dui law regarding the point at which someone is classified as legally drunk has become standard across the country: If you are driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 or higher, you are a drunk driver, no matter where you’re driving in the United States. What hasn’t become standard, though, are the dui penalties for each state. If you commit a DUI in New Hampshire, you’ll face a long list of penalties and fines.

Your first DUI in New Hampshire is a Class B misdemeanor with fines ranging from $350 to $2,000, plus assessments, and your driver’s license could be revoked from 9 months to 2 years. However, hardship licenses are available to those who have no other way of getting to and from work. But if your license is revoked, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your vehicle, at your own cost, for a period of from 6 months to two years after your license is reinstated. In addition to the above fines, you may be responsible for having to reimburse up to $10,000 in DUI-related costs; however, performing 500 hours of community service can offset those costs. Also, it will be mandatory for you to complete an impaired driver intervention program, at your own cost. And, if a professional assessment warrants it, you may be required to undergo substance abuse treatment, also at your own cost.

A second offense is a Class A misdemeanor which carries a $750 fine and the loss of your license for three years. If this offense occurs within two years of the prior offense, you will spend a minimum of 30 days in jail, and have to pay the  $1,200 fee for a 7-day stay at the DWI Offender Intervention Detention Center. And if this offense occurs between 2 and 10 years of the prior offense, you will spend a minimum of 10 days in jail, as well as pay the $1,200 enrollment for 7 days in the DWI Offender Intervention Detention Center.

The third offense is the same as a second offense, plus a minimum jail term of 30 days, and enrollment in a 28-day intensive substance abuse program. Your license will be revoked indefinitely, and there will be no reinstatement for a period of five years.

Your fourth, and any subsequent, offense becomes a felony. Convicted felons lose their right to vote, to bear arms, are barred from having certain types of employment, and have a hard time qualifying for a loan. You will face the same penalties as a third dui offense, except your license cannot be reinstated for at least 7 years, you’llo have to pay an additional $280 to $380 assessment, and you’ll be enrolled in a 20-hour alcohol/drug education course, at (you guessed it) your own expense.

Being charged with a New Hampshire DUI can be very costly, and not just in terms of money out of your pocket. A drunk driving attorney will be able to help you fight for your  rights and hold on to your privileges. Don’t take anything for granted.

Random Posts

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.